Ballon d`Or 2022 The Golden Ball, Everything To Know

The Ballon d`Or has lengthy been visible as the best man or woman honour in soccer. This year’s rite will take location on Monday, October 17, on the Theatre du Chatalet in Paris, France. For the primary time, the 2022 Ballon d’Or award may be passed to the greatest participant of the 2021/22 season as opposed to the pinnacle performer of the calendar year.

Ballon d`Or 2022 ” The Golden Ball ” Who Will won?

The “Golden Ball” has been passed out when you consider that 1956. Lionel Messi has received the trophy a report seven times, with Cristiano Ronaldo 2d with five. Luka Modric is the only participant now no longer named Messi or Ronaldo who has received the Ballon d’Or when you consider that 2008.

Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo have received 12 of the closing thirteen Ballon dOrs - with Real Madrids Luka Modric prevailing as the only outlier in 2018 – however Messi became now no longer even nominated for the 2022 award. Karim Benzema is the new preferred to win the men’s award.

When will the 2022 Ballon d’Or winner be announced?

The winner will be crowned on Monday, October 17 at the Theatre du Chatelet in Paris, with the ceremony set to start at 7:30pm BST.

Does 2022 Ballon d’Or Rules are changed?

The Ballon d’Or has passed through numerous massive adjustments for its 2022 award. The maximum giant is the brand new time table for the prize. While earlier than it’s been judged primarily based totally at the calendar year (January to December), that has now been modified according with the ordinary soccer season (August to July).

It manner a participant’s complete season may be judged upon, as opposed to half-seasons. As a result, the 2022 Qatar World Cup will affect the 2023 Ballon d’Or award, as opposed to the 2022 version because of taking location withinside the winter.

The shortlisting manner has additionally skilled a change. It became formerly drafted via way of means of newshounds operating for France Football and L’Équipe, however that has now been altered.

Ballon d’Or ambassador Didier Drogba will now assist to finalise the shortlists in addition to the “maximum insightful voter” from the preceding version of the award. For the men’s 2022 version, Vietnamese journalist Truong Anh Ngoc, operating for The Thao & Van Hoa, could have a say withinside the shortlist at the same time as Czech journalist Karolina Hlavackova, operating for Ruik, will assist finalise the 2022 Women’s shortlist.

Ballon d’Or shortlist in full

  • Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool)
  • Karim Benzema (Real Madrid)
  • Joao Cancelo (Manchester City)
  • Casemiro (Real Madrid)
  • Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid)
  • Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City)
  • Luis Diaz (Porto, Liverpool)
  • Fabinho (Liverpool)
  • Phil Foden (Manchester City)
  • Erling Haaland (Borussia Dortmund)
  • Sebastien Haller (Ajax)
  • Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur)
  • Joshua Kimmich (Bayern Munich)
  • Rafael Leao (Milan)
  • Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich)
  • Riyad Mahrez (Manchester City)
  • Mike Maignan (Milan)
  • Sadio Mane (Liverpool)
  • Kylian Mbappe (Paris Saint-Germain)
  • Luka Modric (Real Madrid)
  • Christopher Nkunku (RB Leipzig)
  • Darwin Nunez (Benfica)
  • Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus, Manchester United)
  • Antonio Rudiger (Chelsea)
  • Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)
  • Bernardo Silva (Manchester City)
  • Son Heung-min (Tottenham Hotspur)
  • Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool)
  • Vinicius Junior (Real Madrid)
  • Dusan Vlahovic (Fiorentina, Juventus)